Failures

Failures

by Mike Masnick




Infinium: Here, Have A Keyboard! See? It's Real! It's A Keyboard!

from the nice-try dept

Last month, we chronicled the latest on Infinium Labs and their missing Phantom gaming console. For years, the company promised a miraculous gaming console, but was dogged by rumors that the whole thing was a stock scam -- which they enhanced by suing those who accused them just as they were building back some credibility. However, as they win vaporware award after vaporware award and have yet to show anything of substance, many people have counted them out. Last month their "credibility" walked out the door -- when the big name CEO they had brought in left. However, the company keeps going, and swears that (no, really, we swear!) they're going to release a product next year. However, it won't actually be the Phantom gaming console. Nope. It's a gaming keyboard -- and it won't be available until at least the second quarter meaning (hey, look at that!) it's vaporware.

11 Comments | Leave a Comment..

 
 

Reader Comments

(Flattened / Threaded)

    Dec 28th, 2005 @ 1:13pm
  • SEC?

    by Where is the SEC

    Um; there's this thing called the Securities and Exchange Commission. They're, like, people we pay taxes to investigate crap like this.

    Are they investigating? If so, why isn't that getting big press?

    If they aren't investigating: what does that say about the level of confidence investors can have in the markets today?

    How much does it cost to get the SEC off your back, I wonder?

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Dec 28th, 2005 @ 2:13pm
  • No Subject Given

    by Rikko

    I liked insomniac84's comment:

    Did all of you miss the disclaimer at the bottom?

    Who puts a disclaimer on a press release?
    »www.ereleases.com/pr/20051228005.html
    "Safe Harbor Statement


    Certain statements included in this press release may constitute forward-looking statements. Actual results could differ materially from such statements expressed or implied herein as a result of a variety of factors including, but not limited to: the development of the Infinium Labs technology, ability to secure additional financing, the successful marketing and distribution of the Phantom Game Service, acceptance by the market of Infinium Labs, products and technology, competition and timing of projects and trends in the gaming industry, as well as other factors expressed from time to time in filings Infinium Labs will make with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC"). As a result, this press release should be read in conjunction with periodic filings Infinium Labs makes with the SEC. The forward looking statements contained herein are made only as of the date of this press release, and Infinium Labs undertakes no obligation to publicly update such forward looking statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances. "

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Dec 28th, 2005 @ 3:07pm
  • INFINIUM SARASOTA

    by Infinium's neighbor

    yeah, american business practices are disgusting, think about it .. our federal goverment invested how much tax payer money into qwelling organized crime (i.e. mafia ) Please tell me what happened to the mafia?
    Why does it seem the whole corporate infrastructure is based Lies?

    I knew Infinium was a scan for a long time..shame on them for stealing other people hard earned money ..... time for class action .. sadly, in fl even if you win..you cannot go after personal property...so bankrupting the company and living in a mansion on the beach is perfectly acceptable results of corporate fraud.

    I'm sick of people and companies like this....It's time to support the local guys shops ...

    No more lying corporate conglomerates who have no interest in employee welfare.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Dec 28th, 2005 @ 4:39pm
  • Outdated Components? Hah! The Phantom uses vaporwa

    by Aaron Friel

    Somebody in the article linked to mentioned that the components were outdated and not even middle to low end PC tech these days. Well, when I saw this, I just had to check:

    # AMD® Athlon™ XP 2500+ central processing unit (CPU) # NVIDIA® GeForce™ FX 5700 Ultra graphics processing unit (GPU)
    The Athlon XP 2500+ (note the lack of the number 64) was released nearly 3 years ago. In fact, at the time of the last Athlon XP 2500+, there were five processors superior to it just in the same model number, previous generation chips had already exceeded the 2500+ designation. The GeForce FX 5700 is also a 2003 released part, it is no longer manufactured. So clearly, the fault lies not in Infinium, but the fact that all their potential manufacturers have moved on to bigger and better things. Poor, poor Infinium. Everyone, shed a tear.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Dec 28th, 2005 @ 9:03pm
  • Well, what do you expect

    by Max

    Well I hate to break it to you, but this is just the way capitalism works. You give people freedom and, while most play along, there are always the ones that figure out how to exploit it. People just have to watch where they put their money. I would also like to reply to the post about the mafia. While yes, the mob still exists, it is not nearly as bad as it was back, well, come to think of it, before the FBI's organized crime division. Yes, the SEC is worthless, but since when did people start relying on beurocrats(sp?) to get things done?

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Mar 21st, 2007 @ 10:18am
  • by Anonymous Coward

    Just who they issued the release with tells me everything. ereleases, this company and its owner/founder Mickie Kennedy is involved with sending out so much false information. Here is a recent FRAUD investigation he is tied to http://www.macon.com/mld/macon/news/local/16384862.htm Keep away from any press release issued by his company!

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • May 15th, 2008 @ 10:04am
  • ereleases is a FRAUD - SCAM

    by Takos Alandros

    I agree I found out so much information about ereleases directly from their so called "partner" PR Newswire. They take you $400 and pay prnewswire less than a $100 and all they are utilizing is a Philadelphia city distribution. What a SCAM!

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  • Sep 4th, 2008 @ 6:47am
  • A fool and his money....

    by KE

    If you're stupid enough to invest in schemes you don't understand, you also have to live with losing money in ways you had not anticipated.

    This has nothing to do with capitalism. This is just herding idiots.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

Add Your Comment

Have a Techdirt Account? Sign in now.
Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML
Save me a cookie
  • Plain Text: A CRLF will be replaced by break <br> tag, all other allowable HTML is intact
  • HTML: No formatting of any kind is done without explicitly being written in
  • Allowed HTML Tags: <b> <i> <p> <a> <em> <br> <strong> <blockquote> <hr> <tt>
Close
Have a Techdirt Account? Sign in now.
Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML Save me a cookie

Search Techdirt
And now, a word from our Sponsors..



Subscribe to Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Related Stories
Close
E-mail It