Scams

Scams

by Mike Masnick




Latest Scam: Fake Internet Pharmacy Just Steals Money From You

from the simple,-direct dept

With all the various online scams that are getting increasingly sophisticated, here's one that's as simple as it is direct. It's a fake online pharmacy that is somehow figures out the bank account numbers of people and just takes $140 from you each month. No one seems to be able to find the actual company, though someone did turn up a letter from them claiming to be an online discount drug subscription service partnered with local pharmacies. The letter seemed to indicate that they had an "opt-out" subscription plan, where you got charged $140/month unless you opted-out. Obviously, that's quite illegal, and people are wondering how the company could have received access to bank account numbers without any authorization from the account owner.

11 Comments | Leave a Comment..

 
 

Reader Comments (rss)

(Flattened / Threaded)

  1. Dec 21st, 2006 @ 2:25pm

    Internet Pahrmacy

    Hi,
    I'm looking inot a company called the internetpharmacyconnection. They have a website: www.internetpharmacyconnection.com

    I'm considering doing business, but want to know if anyone has ever dealt with them.

    Horatio

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  2. Jan 4th, 2007 @ 12:23pm

    internet pharmacy connection

    by Frank Werner

    I am also considering doing business with this company. I have found out that the "Corporate Office " address is a rented mailbox in Carson City, NV

    They have a very professwional looking website.

    Wondering if You had found out anything more

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  3. Jan 16th, 2007 @ 10:38pm

    Re: internet pharmacy connection

    by Sergey Nemirovsky

    They promise me, to start me in business of selling drugs on line. They took $495.00dollars plus $40.00dollars for shipping their folder on the franchace they sold me for $495.00dollars. Then it took some effort from me to reverse the charges with my credit card(american express)
    Couple days later they called me again & solisited Another $6540.00dollars for Advertising my so called businness. I had to cancel my credit card,so that charge had been removed. The company that solisited this larger amount is called "incredible advertising" that what solisitor called his company,for which he took my money.To advertyze their drugs
    on the web site "internet pharmacy connection"
    A little bit about me, I am foreign born guy,so I have to ask everybodys forgivness for my English spelling,even after many years of living in USA,Printing in english is somewhat of strugle. Sergei. P.S. they promised lot of money in commissions in return for use of my good name.
    Should I report them to BBB.com or FBI organization.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  4. Feb 24th, 2007 @ 11:42am

    internet pharmacy scam?

    by CINDY H.

    Hi, I placed an order for medication through an internet pharmacy called webrxscripts, they have taken my credit card info and billed me for the meds but I have never received them, also the phone number and email address they give are not good. has anyone heard of them or had any dealings with them? Thanks.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  5. Mar 17th, 2007 @ 8:40am

    Re: internet pharmacy scam?

    by Tracey J.

    I am having the same problem with webrxscrips.com, unable to get ahold of anyone by phone or email. Did you ever get any response, or ever get your medication? I am thinking I am going to contact my bank immediately. Please let me know what you ended up doing. Thanks!

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  6. Mar 24th, 2007 @ 2:23pm

    Internetpharmacyconnection.com

    by Cathy

    I paid my money and paid an extra for advertising. I think tha was stupid of me. Now I try calling the company and I do not get anyone they call me when thay want to. I have been trying to get hold of the original company not the adverting one the same thing. I think I need to bring the FEDs in to this one I lost a lot of money it's been 4 months nothing I think its time we report these people before a lot more people get scamed.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  7. Mar 24th, 2007 @ 2:26pm

    Re: Re: internet pharmacy connection

    by Marth

    Did you report them yet. I think we need to bring the feeds into this one I lost a lot of money. Please let me know.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  8. Mar 24th, 2007 @ 3:01pm

    Internet pharmacyconnection

    by Linda

    I am taking it up I need my money back. I will the FBI or someone guys help me so that I know how to take this matter up. They took my money too.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  9. Jan 12th, 2008 @ 7:39pm

    Internet Pharmacy Connection scam

    by Nora Lum

    I lost a lot of money with this company. They promised all the assistance I would need but from the time I joined I could never get a response by phone or email. The advertising agency, Incredible Advertising, seemed to be sincere but after a few calls I was not able to contact them and I lost a lot with them too.Is there any chance of recovering any money if we contact the FBI?

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  10. Feb 4th, 2008 @ 7:10pm

    Internet Pharmacy Connection

    by Tilda Bouchillon

    I signed on with this company in January 2007 with a copy of their written guarantee stating that if I had not made my investment back within one year they would refund the difference. Needless to say I didn't sell a single med even though I also invested in advertising - not with Incredible Advertising. I've written a formal request to the address in Carson City NV - it's a commercial mail company that isn't authorized to receive mail from Internet Pharmacy Connection. I have been unable to contact this company in the last year. If I call then I get a voice mail system. The snail mail address is bogus and I do not have an email for them. Now I can't even get on their website - it's down for maintenance. I don't know if contacting federal officials will get any of our money back but at least we could stop them from taking anyone elses money.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  11. Jul 15th, 2008 @ 10:47am

    Help stop this menace - internetpharmacyconnection.com

    by LI ASO

    With all the various online scams that are getting increasingly sophisticated, here's one that's as simple as it is direct. It's a fake online pharmacy that is somehow figures out the bank account numbers of people and just takes $140 from you each month. No one seems to be able to find the actual company, though someone did turn up a letter from them claiming to be an online discount drug subscription service partnered with local pharmacies. The letter seemed to indicate that they had an "opt-out" subscription plan, where you got charged $140/month unless you opted-out. Obviously, that's quite illegal, and people are wondering how the company could have received access to bank account numbers without any authorization from the account owner.

    Here are futher information about this scammers internetpharmacyconnection.com

    They are registered with godaddy.com.
    I called godaddy.com @ Tel:1-480-505-8877 today and spoke with one of the Techs there who confirmed they are registered with them. and told me to send an email to abuse@secureserver.net and they will take it from there.
    To whoever is concerned, let us join hands to stop this internet thief of our time.
    Report this abuse to the poice so that, they could investigate godaddy.com and find out the person who registered under that name www.internetpharmacy.com


    Whois Server Version 2.0

    Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
    for detailed information.

    Domain Name: INTERNETPHARMACYCONNECTION.COM
    Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
    Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
    Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
    Name Server: NS43.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Name Server: NS44.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
    Status: clientDeleteProhibited
    Status: clientRenewProhibited
    Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Status: clientUpdateProhibited
    Updated Date: 22-feb-2008
    Creation Date: 25-oct-2006
    Expiration Date: 25-oct-2009

    >>> Last update of whois database: Tue, 15 Jul 2008 12:29:27 EDT

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

Add Your Comment

Have a Techdirt Account? Sign in now. Want one? Register here
Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML Save me a cookie
  • Plain Text: A CRLF will be replaced by break <br> tag, all other allowable HTML is intact
  • HTML: No formatting of any kind is done without explicitly being written in
  • Allowed HTML Tags: <b> <i> <p> <a> <em> <br> <strong> <blockquote> <hr> <tt>
Close
Have a Techdirt Account? Sign in now. Want one? Register here
Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML Save me a cookie

Search Techdirt
And now, a word from our Sponsors..



Subscribe to Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Related Stories
Close
E-mail It