Scams

Scams

by Mike Masnick


Print


Filed Under:
hijacking, open source, shareaza

Companies:
discordia, shareaza


The Hijacking Of An Open Source P2P App

from the scammy dept

TorrentFreak has been following the ongoing alleged hijacking of an open source file sharing system called Shareaza. Late in December, somehow a New York-based company (Discordia Ltd.) gained control of the domain name Shareaza.com and put up a new site, though using much of the artwork from the original Shareaza site. Rather than offering up the open source Shareaza software, the new site started offering a subscription service that included adware. To add insult to injury, Discordia has also threatened the real Shareaza developers due to comments in a forum about what to do about the hijackers. The latest news is that Discorida (which TorrentFreak claims has connections to the recording industry) is trying to trademark the Shareaza name, which you would think shouldn't be possible, given that the open source developers were working on the project for a few years before Discordia got access to the domain name. The whole thing sounds like quite a mess in a way that's designed to likely trick users and/or discredit the open source Shareaza project.

10 Comments | Leave a Comment..

 

Reader Comments (rss)

(Flattened / Threaded)

  1. .... Wow... by Le Blue Dude on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 3:48pm

    Seriously, why the heck are Discordia doing something so stupid? I mean that's just about a surefire way to cheese the entire internet off at you, and then some. And since they seem to be involved in a internet app...

    Well, I predict DOS, Malicious hacking, and all sorts of bad-crap happening to Discordia, followed by bankruptcy. I mean, that's almost inevitable. And no, I'm not threatening them: I don't even know enough to script kitty.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  2. Re: .... Wow... by Quantity Surveyor Man on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 5:13pm

    >Well, I predict DOS, Malicious hacking, and all sorts of bad-crap happening to Discordia, followed by bankruptcy. I mean, that's almost inevitable. And no, I'm not threatening them: I don't even know enough to script kitty.

    Amen bro. I wonder how long they have to live? Even if they don't get hacked down to their neurons, they'll be listed in malware guides everywhere in just days.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  3. by Anonymous Coward on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 6:08pm

    Sounds like they are spreading discord.

    What fool named that company ?

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  4. Why the delay in posting? by Xanius on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 6:15pm

    It's not really a somehow, in the article it says that the guy that owned the domain can neither confirm nor deny that he sold it to the company. That means he most likely did because if he hadn't then he would say "No, I did not sell them the domain and have no idea how they got it".

    Also, the trademark link points to the wrong link it should be http://torrentfreak.com/scammers-move-to-seize-shareaza-trademark-080302/

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  5. What's really stupid ... by Chris Maresca on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 6:23pm

    ... is that they could make FAR more money by using open source as a key part of their strategy. Just look at the valuations of some open source companies sold recently....

    Chris.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  6. There is more by Anonymous Coward on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 7:39pm

    Until recently the Shareazza application (the real one) checked the domain that Discordia purchased for updates. The authors never got around to changing it (as far as I know, most people used source forge to get the program and all the talk was going on there anyways).

    Oh and that talk on the forums was not posted by a developer (at least official developer) and while the effect is akin to something illegal (DDOS) it really isn't.

    The suggestion was to make the app "call home" and use the original setting for updates (eg the domain Discordia owns now). In effect it would be a DDOS attack but the funny thing is many programs do this already!

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  7. by linuxamp on Mar 3rd, 2008 @ 8:19pm

    I'm no lawyer but this must break at least a few laws. They obviously had intent to deceive. Did the update include a new license to inform the users of the new "features"? Isn't using a prior application to install a new application pretty much a trojan?

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  8. Re: linuxamp by SteveD on Mar 4th, 2008 @ 3:59am

    You need money to enforce laws or make legal challenges, and the hobbyests who work on the software don't have the finances to take this lot to court.

    The conspiracy theorists claim Discordia is a shell company of some anti-piracy group or at least receiving funding and pointers from them. On the other hand maybe they're just trying to cash in on the filesharing networks. But as Shareaza is normally used for music sharing, how would a company registered in the US manage to make money off it and keep off the RIAAs radar at the same time?

    Its all a bit fishy.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  9. F**k it... by Dean Landolt on Mar 4th, 2008 @ 7:30am

    Fork it and rebrand. It shouldn't be hard if they already have a decent community, and it would be a very *Streisand* way to build that community further. Make a stink about your plight, do a name/logo competition and drum up as much chatter as possible...

    It seems to be working for dataportability.org, who just got a c&d from, of all people, Red Hat re: their logo vs. fedora's. It's all quite a mess (the only thing they have in common is the symbol for infinity), but the dataportability group decided it would be more advantageous to turn this into a positive rather than waste resources pissing in the wind.

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

  10. Shareaza by Melissa on Apr 8th, 2008 @ 7:09pm

    I found this link on the CMS Made Simple Forum regarding Shareaza! Please give it a look:
    http://forum.cmsmadesimple.org/index.php?topic=20984.msg102048

    (reply to this comment) (link to this comment)

Add Your Comment

Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML Save me a cookie
  • Plain Text: A CRLF will be replaced by break <br> tag, all other allowable HTML is intact
  • HTML: No formatting of any kind is done without explicitly being written in
  • Allowed HTML Tags: <b> <i> <p> <a> <em> <br> <strong> <blockquote> <hr> <tt>
Close
Get Techdirt’s Daily Email
Plain Text HTML Save me a cookie
Search the Techdirt Blog
And now, a word from our Sponsors..
Subscribe to Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Techdirt's Daily Email Newsletter

Related Stories
Close
E-mail It